Thursday, January 27, 2022
Top 5 Things to Know About The Change From 10+2 to 5+3+3+4 Under NEP 2020

Top 5 Things to Know About The Change From 10+2 to 5+3+3+4 Under NEP 2020

The New Education Policy, 2020 is set to replace the existing pattern of the schooling system in India. The prevalent pattern of 10+2 will now get replaced by the 5+3+3+4 pattern. Here are the top 5 things you need to know about.

1. Four stages in education

The new education system of 5+3+3+4  outline divides education into four different stages. The stages have been defined in accordance with the age of children. The stages are broadly classified as:

  • Foundational stage of 5 years: This stage takes the age group of 3 to 8 into account. It will comprise 3 years of schooling (pre-school or Anganwadi) followed by two years of primary classes 1 and 2. It focuses on teaching in play-based or activity-based methods and on the development of language skills.
  • The preparatory stage of 3 years: This stage takes the age group of 8 to 11 into account. It will comprise the education from classes 3 to 5. The focus remains on the development of language and numeracy skills. The teaching method would be play-based and activity-based. It also includes classroom interactions and the element of discovery.
  • The middle stage of 3 years: This stage takes the age group of 11 to 14 into account. It will comprise the education from classes 6 to 8. In this stage, the focus will remain on the critical learning objectives. It shifts away from the idea of rote learning methods used in education for years. It will have experiential learning in fields of sciences, mathematics, arts, and social sciences, and humanities.
  • The secondary stage of 4 years: This stage takes the age group of 14 to 18 into account. The stage is set to cover two phases i.e. classes 9 and 10 and classes 11 and 12. It will now focus on a multi-disciplinary system. The students will get access to a variety of subject combinations. They will be able to choose as per their skills and interest. The stage will usher in a greater critical thinking process and flexibility.

2. Strong foundation in early childhood

The new initiative will form a strong base at the foundational level. As a result, it will help to build the concepts stronger for children. They will have an exponential learning as they grow. The imparting of skills and exposure to practical training has remained the key focus throughout the NEP, 2020.

3. Focus on skills and interests

The new curriculum recognizes the need of selecting subject combinations according to skills and interests. It would help students making a legitimate choice in their career path. It emphasizes the need for skill development, vocational learning, and the introduction of internships from class 6 onwards. The assessment system SAFAL is a comprehensive step to ensure that a student knows his shortcomings and takes corrective measures for his/her development.

4. Option to exit and re-enter the education system

Under the New Education Policy, students will have an option to exit during grade 10 and then re-enter in grade 11 at a later stage. The total number of years for education remains the same. The only change is that it has now split the years in the education system.

5. More emphasis on vocational education and internships

More emphasis will be laid on vocational education and internships. Students will be equipped with new skills. It is done to ensure that by 2025 students have at least 50% exposure to vocational training. The ‘curricular’. ‘extra-curricular’, and ‘co-curricular’ activities have been merged to make a comprehensive education system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Have Missed